Venicexplorer

Сан - Джорджо Маджоре

Появившись как декорации по воде от Piazzetta, маленький остров Сан-Джорджо Маджоре был захвачен на холсте бесчисленное количество раз.

Церковь и монастырь, построенный между 1559 и 1580, являются одними из величайших архитектурных Андреа Палладио достижений. Храм церкви передние и просторный, спокойный интерьер с его совершенными пропорциями и прохладная красота, как правило, Палладио, по образцу классического стиля древнего Рима.

В церкви Сан-Джорджо Маджоре, на алтарь стены, два конца искусства Tintorretto работы: Тайная вечеря, а также сбор Манна. В часовне мертвых, его последняя работа, осаждение, была закончена его сыном Доменико.

В верхней части высокой колокольни, достигли на лифте, открывается превосходный панораму площади Сан-Марко, город и залив.

Много веков назад монахи-бенедиктинцы заняли оригинальные монастыря, который был восстановлен в 13 веке в результате землетрясения. Позже он стал одним из центров обучения и проживания для выдающихся иностранных гостей. После падения республики в 1797 году, монастырь был подавлен, и многие из его сокровища были украдены.

В 1829 году остров стал свободным портом, а в 1851 году, штаб-квартира артиллерии. К этому времени он изменился до неузнаваемости. Комплекс восстановила свою роль как активный культурный центр при монастыре, обнимая монастырей Палладио, трапезная, библиотека, была куплена в 1951 году графом Витторио Чини. Там он основал морской колледж для детей-сирот моряков, посвященный памяти своего сына, Джорджио, который умер в воздушном бою во время последней мировой войны. Витторио Чини делали это в сотрудничестве с монахи-бенедиктинцы, которые являются всемирно известные, как библиотекари и книга-реставраторов.

Библиотека монастыря, в настоящее время в ведении Института высоких культуры, находятся чудесные коллекции рукописей и редких книг.

Сегодня современный культурный Фонд Чини процветающий центр венецианской культуры проведения мероприятий и выставок. Существует также Театр под открытым небом.

related pages

грибы баклажаны 1

грибы баклажаны

"Грибы" Баклажаны (Melansane al Fungheto) Автор: Lucia Fanton Ингредиенты длиной, блестящие и темные…
Ночные клубы и дискотеки 1

Ночные клубы и дискотеки

Ночные клубы и дискотеки Bacaro Jazz Bacaro Jazz является бурный коктейль-бар на Salizzada-дель-Fontego…
Надвое гороха Суп 1

Надвое гороха Суп

Надвое гороха Суп (Сопа де Spessati) Zuppa ди Mezzi Piselli Предоставил Люсия Фэнтон введение Это,…
]

Venicexplorer
Venice weather Wednesday 07:13 AM
Temperature: °c
Humidity: %
Cloud Cover: %

San Giorgio Maggiore

Appearing like a stage set across the water from the Piazzetta, the little island of San Giorgio Maggiore has been captured on canvas countless times.

The church and monastery, built between 1559 and 1580, are among Andrea Palladio’s greatest architectural achievements. The church’s temple front and the spacious, serene interior with its perfect proportions and cool beauty are typically Palladian, modelled on the Classical style of ancient Rome.

Church of San Giorgio MaggioreWithin the church of San Giorgio Maggiore, on the chancel walls, are two late Tintorretto art works: The Last Supper and the Gathering of the Manna. In the Chapel of the Dead, his last work, The Deposition, was finished by his son Domenico.

The top of the tall campanile, reached by a lift, affords a superb panorama of St. Marks Square,, the city and the lagoon.

Centuries ago, Benedictine monks occupied the original monastery, which was rebuilt in the 13th century following an earthquake. It later became a centre of learning and a residence for eminent foreign visitors. Following the fall of the Republic in 1797, the monastery was suppressed and many of its treasures were stolen.

In 1829, the island became a free port, and in 1851, the headquarters of the artillery. By this time it had changed beyond recognition. The complex regained its role as an active cultural centre when the monastery, embracing Palladio’s cloisters, refectory and library, was purchased in 1951 by Count Vittorio Cini. There, he founded a marine College for sailors’ orphans, dedicated to the memory of his own son, Giorgio, who died in an air battle during the last World War. Vittorio Cini did this in cooperation with the Benedictine monks who are world renowned as librarians and book-restorers.

The Monastery Library, now administered by the Institute of High Culture , houses a marvellous collection of manuscripts and rare books.

Today the modern cultural Cini Foundation is a thriving centre of Venetian culture hosting events and exhibitions. There is also an open air theatre.

related pages

#5:   Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari or Basilica dei Frari or Friar Basilica

#5: Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari or Basilica dei Frari or Friar Basilica

The Basilica dei Frari, Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari, or the Friar Basilica is most commonly and most simply known as dei Frari, and Frari means brothers.…
San Barnaba

San Barnaba

San Barnaba It’s easy to hurry past the church of San Barnaba, the focal point of a waterside campo on the route between the Accademia and Campo Santa…
Ponte di Calatrava

Ponte di Calatrava

Also known as the Ponte della Constituzione, the name elected to honour the 60th anniversary of the Italian constitution in 2008, Venice Italy’s newest…
]