Venicexplorer

San Zaccaria

Situé dans une petite place tranquille juste un jet de pierre de la Riva degli Schiavoni, l'église de San Zaccaria est un mélange réussi de styles flamboyants Renaissance gothique et classique. Fondée au 9ème siècle, il a été entièrement reconstruit entre 1444 et 1515. Antonio Gambello a commencé la façade de style gothique, mais il est mort en 1481. Mauro Coducci terminé la partie supérieure, en ajoutant tous les détails classiques.

Le couvent bénédictin voisin, qui avait des liens étroits avec l'église, est devenu très célèbre pour le caractère agité de les religieuses. La majorité sont issus de familles de la noblesse vénitienne, beaucoup d'entre eux a envoyé au couvent pour éviter la dépense d'une dot.

Chaque Pâques, le doge est venu avec son entourage à San Zaccaria, une coutume qui a commencé comme une expression de gratitude envers les religieuses, qui ont renoncé à une partie de leurs jardins et métiers à tisser de telle sorte que la Piazza San Marco pourrait être élargi.

Le summum artistique de l'intérieur est de Giovanni Bellini richement colorée et sereine Vierge et l'Enfant avec des saints (1505) dans le bas-côté nord.

Sur la droite de l'église est une porte vers la chapelle de saint Athanase, ce qui conduit à la chapelle de San Tarasio. La chapelle est ornée de fresques voûte d'Andrea del Castagno de Florence. Les reliques de huit doges sont enterrés dans la crypte.

related pages

Recettes vénitiennes 1

Recettes vénitiennes

Autre information intéressante est également donnée dans certaines recettes qui montrent comment les Vénitiens ancienne fait usage de la vaisselle…
#3:  Venice Academy Gallery Museum of Art/Gallerie dell’Accademia di Venezia [translations pending] 1

#3: Venice Academy Gallery Museum of Art/Gallerie dell’Accademia di Venezia [translations pending]

Also known as the Gallerie dell’Accademia di Venezia, the Academy Gallery Museum of Art is Venice’s premiere art museum! This monumental art gallery…
Appâtage Bull 1

Appâtage Bull

Appâtage Bull Amorce de taureau était habituellement réalisée dans le campo San Polo, d'une manière similaire à des événements à Pampelune, en…
]

Venicexplorer
Venice weather Thursday 03:04 AM
Temperature: °c
Humidity: %
Cloud Cover: %

San Zaccaria

Set in a quiet square just a stone’s throw from the Riva degli Schiavoni, the church of San Zaccaria is a successful blend of flamboyant Gothic and classical Renaissance styles. Founded in the 9th century, it was completely rebuilt between 1444 and 1515. Antonio Gambello began the façade in Gothic style, but died in 1481. Mauro Coducci completed the upper section, adding all the classical detail.

Church of San Zaccaria VeniceThe adjoining Benedictine convent, which had close links with the church, became quite notorious for the riotous behaviour of the nuns. The majority were from families of Venetian nobility, many of them sent to the convent to avoid the expense of a dowry.

Every Easter, the Doge came with his entourage to San Zaccaria, a custom which began as an expression of gratitude to the nuns, who had relinquished part of their gardens and looms so that Piazza San Marco could be enlarged.

The artistic highlight of the interior is Giovanni Bellini’s richly coloured and serene Madonna and Child with Saints (1505) in the north aisle.

On the right of the church is a door to the Chapel of St. Athanasius, which leads to the Chapel of San Tarasio. The chapel is decorated with vault frescoes by Andrea del Castagno of Florence. The relics of eight doges lie buried in the waterlogged crypt.

related pages

#2:  Doge’s Palace, Palazzo Ducale

#2: Doge’s Palace, Palazzo Ducale

Doge’s Palace is situated right on St. Mark’s Square in Venice. In Italian it is known as Palazzo Ducale, and the palace contains an extensive array…
#3:  Venice Academy Gallery Museum of Art/Gallerie dell’Accademia di Venezia

#3: Venice Academy Gallery Museum of Art/Gallerie dell’Accademia di Venezia

Also known as the Gallerie dell’Accademia di Venezia, the Academy Gallery Museum of Art is Venice’s premiere art museum! This monumental art gallery…
#5:   Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari or Basilica dei Frari or Friar Basilica

#5: Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari or Basilica dei Frari or Friar Basilica

The Basilica dei Frari, Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari, or the Friar Basilica is most commonly and most simply known as dei Frari, and Frari means brothers.…
]