威尼斯是世界上最伟大的电影地点之一,这个城市在一系列艺术价值不同的电影中扮演了主演和客串的角色。

尼古拉斯-罗格(Nicholas Roeg)1973年改编的达芙妮-杜莫里埃(Daphne du Maurier)的《别看了》(Don't Look Now)中闪耀着既丰满又阴险的气氛,而大卫-里恩(David Lean)1955年由凯瑟琳-赫本(Katherine Hepburn)主演的《夏日时光》则抓住了威尼斯的浪漫,维斯康蒂的《威尼斯之死》有一种怀旧的感觉。

但最重要的是,威尼斯在古装剧中熠熠生辉,无论是《鸽子的翅膀》(Helena Bonham Carter再次穿上紧身衣亮相)、保罗-施拉德(Paul Schrader)导演的《陌生人的安慰》(Comfort of Strangers),还是《卡萨诺瓦》(2005),这个伟大情人的故事,威尼斯奇妙地恢复了18世纪的面貌,希斯-莱杰、西耶娜-米勒和杰里米-艾恩斯提供了明星品质。

威尼斯已经成为无数电影的背景,包括费里尼的《卡萨诺瓦》(1976年)和《夺宝奇兵》,当时圣巴纳巴教堂被伪装成图书馆,哈里森-福特在那里遇到了威尼斯的大部分老鼠。

来自俄罗斯的爱情》(1963年)见证了詹姆斯-邦德的007冒险在威尼斯开始。十多年后,另一部詹姆斯-邦德的冒险片《垦荒者》(Moonraker)(1979年)也在威尼斯的运河上拍摄。詹姆斯-邦德007和威尼斯在2006年的詹姆斯-邦德电影《皇家赌场》中继续他们的恋情,这是一部在全世界放映的重要大片。

1996年,《英国病人》掀起了电影业的风暴,获得了九项奥斯卡奖;它在意大利的几个地方拍摄,包括威尼斯。另一部备受赞誉的电影《天才雷普利先生》获得了五项奥斯卡奖提名,也是在威尼托拍摄的。

威尼斯商人》由好莱坞重量级人物阿尔-帕西诺和杰里米-艾隆斯主演,以16世纪的威尼斯为主要人物之一。威尼斯商人》于2004年上映,准确地描绘了犹太区的生活和法治。

Venice is one of the world’s great movie locations and the city has played starring and cameo roles in a string of films of varying artistic merit.

It’s the atmosphere, both voluptuous and sinister, that shines in Nicholas Roeg’s 1973 adaptation of Daphne du Maurier’s Don’t Look Now, while David Lean’s 1955 Summertime starring Katherine Hepburn, captures the romance of Venice, and Visconti’s Death in Venice has an air of nostalgia.

But above all, Venice sparkles in costume dramas, whether it’s The Wings of the Dove, with Helena Bonham Carter making yet another corseted appearance, the decadent Comfort of Strangers, directed by Paul Schrader, or Casanova (2005), the tale of the great lover, with Venice wonderfully restored to its 18th century appearance and Heath Ledger, Sienna Miller and Jeremy Irons providing the star quality.

Venice has served as the backdrop to countless films, including Fellini’s Casanova (1976), and Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade, when San Barnaba church masqueraded as a library where Harrison Ford encountered most of the rat population of Venice.

From Russia with Love (1963) saw the James Bond 007 adventure begin in Venice. More than a decade later Moonraker, another James Bond adventure (1979) was shot in Venice on the canals. James Bond 007 and Venice continued their affair in the 2006 James Bond movie, Casino Royale, a major blockbuster shown around the world.

In 1996, The English Patient took the film industry by storm capturing nine Oscars; it was filmed in several locations in Italy, including Venice. Another acclaimed film, The Talented Mr. Ripley, nominated for five Oscars, was filmed in the Veneto.

The Merchant of Venice, with Hollywood heavyweights Al Pacino and Jeremy Irons, features 16th century Venice as one of the main characters. Released in 2004, The Merchant of Venice accurately portrays both life in the Jewish Ghetto and the rule of law.