圣斯蒂法诺教堂

Verified
S. Marco, 3471C, Venice 30124

Chiesa di Santo Stefano是威尼斯最有趣的教堂之一。它是一座罗马天主教教堂,也是该市第三大修道院教堂。圣斯蒂芬教堂(英文)有一个独特的特点。由于它在威尼斯地图上的位置,船只可以开到建筑的部分下面。位于圣马可区的Campo Santo Stefano,不难找到它。 

历史、建筑与设计

从外面看,Chiesa di Santo Stefano由于其全砖的外墙而显得相当朴素。然而,它的内部是一个真正的建筑杰作,拥有令人印象深刻的文艺复兴时期的艺术收藏。 

该教堂由圣奥古斯丁的僧侣们在13世纪建立。在14和15世纪,进行了重建。这就是美丽的哥特式门洞和船的龙骨形屋顶出现的原因。屋顶是威尼斯造船师的作品。他们建造的天花板让你想起了诺亚方舟。大理石的哥特式入口建于1442年,由巴托洛梅奥-博诺设计。 

教堂的内部也是哥特式的,有三个拱门和一个大的中央玫瑰窗。它能透出大量的光线,使教堂内部非常明亮,突出了它的美丽。从外面,你可以看到倾斜的钟楼--这是圣斯特凡诺教堂的另一个不同寻常的特点。 

教堂内的艺术和珍品

在Chiesa di Santo Stefano,你会发现威尼斯著名画家如Paolo Veneziano或Bartolomeo Vivarini的艺术作品。但该教堂最著名的是丁托列托的画作,令人印象深刻。它们是《最后的晚餐》、《复活》、《基督为门徒洗脚》和《花园里的祈祷》。 

在这里,你还会发现安东尼奥-卡诺瓦(Antonio Canova)创作的乔万尼-法利埃议员的葬礼石碑。另一个发现是庞波尼奥-阿马尔泰奥创作的《耶稣受洗》。至于遗物,教堂里有总督莫罗西尼的墓碑。

Chiesa di Santo Stefano

Verified
S. Marco, 3471C, Venice 30124

Chiesa di Santo Stefano is one of the most interesting churches in Venice. It's a Roman Catholic church and the third largest monastery church in the city. The Church of St. Stephen (in English) has a unique feature. Thanks to its location on the Venice map, the boats can drive under the part of the building. Located in Campo Santo Stefano in the San Marco sestiere, it won't be hard to find. 

History, architecture & design

From the outside, Chiesa di Santo Stefano looks rather plain due to its all-brick facade. Yet, inside it's a genuine architectural masterpiece with an impressive Renaissance art collection. 

The church was founded in the 13th century by the monks of St. Augustine. In the 14th and 15th centuries, reconstructions took place. That's how the beautiful gothic doorway and the ship's keel-shaped roof appeared. The roof is the work of Venetian shipbuilders. They constructed the ceiling that reminds you of Noah's ark. The marble gothic portal, built in 1442, is by Bartolomeo Bono. 

The church's interior is also gothic, with three apses and a large central rose window. It lets in a lot of light, making the church very bright inside and highlighting its beauty. From the outside, you can see the leaning campanile - another unusual feature of Chiesa di Santo Stefano. 

The art & treasures inside the church

In Chiesa di Santo Stefano you will find notable art by famous Venetian painters like Paolo Veneziano or Bartolomeo Vivarini. But the church's most known for the impressive paintings by Tintoretto. They are the Last Supper, the Resurrection, Christ Washing the Disciples' Feet, and the Prayer in the Garden. 

Here you'll also find the Funeral Stele of Senatore Giovanni Falier by Antonio Canova. Another find is the Baptism of Jesus by Pomponio Amalteo. As for relics, the church is home to Doge Morosini's tombstone.

Opening Hours

10am-5pm Mon-Sat