圣乔万尼-克里斯托莫

Verified

位于坎纳雷吉奥(Cannaregio)的圣乔瓦尼-克里斯托莫(San Giovanni Crisostomo)是一座充满历史和艺术的小教堂。它位于里亚托(Rialto)和坎普-圣-阿波斯托利(Campo Santi Apostoli)之间的一个拥挤的广场,很容易被忽视。不要犯这样的错误! 在威尼斯地图上放一个大头针,就能体验到真正的威尼斯风情。 

圣乔万尼-克里斯托莫教堂的设计和建筑

圣乔瓦尼-克里斯托莫的建造是在1479年至1504年间进行的。它是毛罗-科杜奇设计的最后一座教堂。他根据希腊十字形的结构设计了教堂的结构。这是很自然的,因为教堂是以希腊教父之一的圣金口命名的。它也是威尼斯文艺复兴时期最重要的教堂之一。 

里面有什么? 

圣乔瓦尼-克里斯托莫是意大利最著名的艺术家的一些宝贵作品的所在地。其中一件独特的物品是塞巴斯蒂亚诺-德尔-皮翁博(Sebastiano del Piombo)的画作,描绘了圣-克里斯托摩斯和六位圣徒。你可以在高高的祭坛上找到它。紧挨着它的是隆巴多的一位艺术家创作的《圣母加冕》。

在天花板上,你会发现朱塞佩-迪亚曼蒂尼的一幅美丽的壁画。礼拜堂里乔瓦尼-贝里尼的一件作品描绘了圣人杰罗姆、克里斯托弗和图卢兹的路易斯。另外,圣乔瓦尼-克里斯托莫仍然是许多原始家具和艺术品的所在地。 

有趣的事实

一战期间,奥地利的一枚炸弹损坏了外墙。由于强烈的爆炸,圣母玛利亚的雕像倒下了,但却保持完整。许多人认为这是一个奇迹。 

参观的另一个原因

对马可波罗的生活感兴趣的人应该去看看教堂后面的两座房子。它们被称为 "Corte Prima "和 "Corte Seconda del Milion"。这些小建筑表明探险家的家人就在附近。

San Giovanni Crisostomo

Verified

San Giovanni Crisostomo, located in Cannaregio, is a small church full of history and art. Located in a crowded square between Rialto and Campo Santi Apostoli, it's easy to overlook. Don't make that mistake! Put a pin on the Venice map for a genuine Venetian experience. 

Design and architecture of the church San Giovanni Crisostomo

The construction of San Giovanni Crisostomo took place between 1479 and 1504. It was the last church designed by Mauro Coducci. He created the structure of the church based on a Greek cross plan. It's only natural as the church is named after one of the Greek Church Fathers, St Chrysostom. It's also one of the most significant churches of the Venetian Renaissance. 

What's inside? 

San Giovanni Crisostomo is home to a few valuable pieces by the most notable Italian artists. One of the unique items is a painting by Sebastiano del Piombo, depicting St Chrysostomos and the Six Saints. You can find it over the high altar. Right next to it is the Coronation of the Virgin, created by one of the Lombardo artists.

On the ceiling, you'll find a beautiful fresco by Giuseppe Diamantini. A work by Giovanni Bellini in the chapel illustrates Saints Jerome, Christopher, and Louis of Toulouse. Also, San Giovanni Crisostomo is still home to many original furnishings and artworks. 

Interesting fact

During WWI, an Austrian bomb damaged the facade. Because of a powerful explosion, the statue of Madonna delle Grazie fell but stayed whole. Many people considered it a miracle. 

One more reason to visit

Those interested in Marco Polo's life should check out the two houses behind the church. They are called "Corte Prima" and "Corte Seconda del Milion." These small buildings suggest the presence of the explorer's family in the neighborhood.