圣玛丽亚-德拉-萨尔特

圣母玛利亚大教堂(Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute)或简称圣母教堂(Chiesa della Salute)建于1630年,位于多加那角(Punta della Dogana)。它于1687年11月21日被祝圣。该建筑在大约20年内完成,成为整个欧洲模仿的巴洛克建筑的典范。  这座教堂是为了感谢圣母玛利亚结束了一场瘟疫的流行而建造的。这是最严重的流行病之一,使威尼斯人的人口减少。

这座巨大的白色大理石教堂由建筑师Baldassare Longhena设计,占据了大运河的入口,其高大的圆顶模仿了圣马可教堂的圆顶。建筑师想感谢圣母玛利亚结束了瘟疫。建筑师为了感谢圣母,在建造教堂时,将外墙的外观与圣母的皇冠相提并论。教堂的结构是八角形的,上面有一个半圆形的大圆顶。六个较小的圆顶点缀了该结构。似乎这个八角形的结构是对圣母玛利亚作为Ave Maria Stella或海员的引路星的进一步提醒。在这里,罗格纳更想加强威尼斯、海和圣母之间的关系。在里面你会发现一个广泛的收藏,包括丁托列托和提香的作品。在高高的祭坛上,也用拜占庭式的圣像和大理石雕塑群来纪念圣母。

 11月21日是 "敬礼节",威尼斯人在这一天来感恩并为自己的健康祈祷。在这一天,教堂会展示一年中其他时间里保存的珍宝。每侧祭坛上都陈列着镀金的正面,有些还装饰着数百颗宝石和珠宝。同时展出的还有尼科佩亚圣母,这是威尼斯最重要的圣像,据说是由圣路加画的。节日前一周,在大运河上建造了一座浮桥,以进入教堂。  11月21日,市民们穿过浮桥,参加弥撒,点燃蜡烛,并与朋友见面。这个游行队伍从圣马可教堂出发,在威尼斯大主教的带领下,到达萨吕特教堂。

Santa Maria della Salute

The Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute or simply Chiesa della Salute was built in 1630 on the Punta della Dogana. It was consecrated on 21 November 1687. The building was completed in about twenty years and became an exemplary model of Baroque architecture that was imitated throughout Europe.  The church was built to thank the Virgin Mary for ending a plague epidemic. It was one of the most serious epidemics that decimated the Venetian population.

The massive white marble church, designed by the architect Baldassare Longhena, dominates the entrance to the Grand Canal, its tall domes imitating those of St Mark's. The architect wanted to thank the Virgin Mary for having put an end to the plague. The architect wanted to thank the Madonna and built the church by referring the appearance of the outer façade to the crown of the Virgin Mary. The structure of the church is octagonal and a large semi-circular dome rests on it. Six smaller domes embellish the structure. It seems that the octagonal structure is a further reminder of the Virgin Mary as Ave Maria Stella or the guiding star for seafarers. Here the Loghena wants even more to reinforce the relationship between Venice, the Sea and the Virgin Mary. Inside you will find an extensive collection including works by Tintoretto and Titian. The Virgin is also honoured on the high altar with a Byzantine icon and a marble sculptural group.

21 November is the Feast of the Salute (festa della Salute), when Venetians come to give thanks and pray for their health. On this day, the church displays treasures that are kept the rest of the year. Gilded frontals are displayed on each side altar, some decorated with hundreds of precious stones and jewels. Also on display is the Madonna Nicopeia, the most important icon in Venice, said to have been painted by St Luke. A week before the festival, a pontoon bridge is built across the Grand Canal to access the church.  On 21 November, citizens cross the pontoon bridge to attend mass, light candles and meet friends. This procession starts from St Mark's and arrives at the Salute Church, led by the Archbishop of Venice.