圣乔瓦尼和保罗大教堂

Verified
Campo S.S. Giovanni e Paolo, 6363, 30122 Venezia VE, Italy

圣乔瓦尼和保罗大教堂(Basilica dei Santi Giovanni e Paolo)是这座城市最大的教堂,也是最重要的教堂之一。威尼斯人称它为圣扎尼波洛。它位于Castello区,矗立在Campo dei Santi Giovanni e Paolo。教堂距离里亚托桥不到10分钟。

它有一种独特的正宗威尼斯的氛围,与城市中其他一些旅游景点不同。圣乔瓦尼和保罗大教堂很宽阔--其内部有100多米长。这里有150个墓碑,37个纪念性的墓穴,以及意大利最著名的艺术家的宝贵作品。请您慢慢探索这个雄伟的地方。

教堂的历史

圣乔瓦尼和保罗大教堂(Basilica dei Santi Giovanni e Paolo)是威尼斯的多米尼加教堂。在历史上,它与Serenissima共和国有关系。教堂以罗马早期基督教会的殉道者约翰和保罗命名。

1246年,总督Jacopo Tiepolo有了一个愿景。然后他把土地捐给了多米尼加人,后者建造了教堂,只是在1333年将其拆除。而现在的教堂就是在那时开始建造的。工人们在1430年11月12日完成了它。自1891年以来,它已经经历了90次修缮。

它有什么独特之处?

大教堂是15至18世纪25位塞伦尼希马总督的安息之所。博物馆的珍宝之一是位于其自身小教堂内的Madonna della Pace。还有另一件珍贵的遗物--锡耶纳的圣凯瑟琳的一只脚。

在教堂里,你会看到意大利著名艺术家的作品,如贝利尼(Bellini)、西马-达-科内利亚诺(Cima da Conegliano)、帕尔马-乔凡(Palma il Giovane)和维瓦里尼-维罗内塞(Vivarini e Veronese)。在那里你还可以看到乔瓦尼-贝利尼(Giovanni e Gentile Bellini)或班迪拉兄弟的墓碑。

建筑和设计

大教堂拥有55米高的圆顶,在威尼斯的天际线上非常显眼。你会对迷人的中央玫瑰窗和令人印象深刻的哥特式彩色玻璃窗感到敬畏,这是威尼斯最大的玻璃窗。还有一个钟楼,里面有三个D大调的钟声,是整个体验的重要组成部分。

教堂附近的景点

圣乔瓦尼和保罗大教堂(Basilica dei Santi Giovanni e Paolo)是威尼斯地图上最重要的地点之一。在教堂旁边,你会发现有一些其他值得一看的景点。其中之一是4米长的威尼斯军阀巴托洛梅奥-科莱奥尼的雕像。

你不可能不注意到圣马可大教堂(Scuola Grande di San Marco),它以前是一个修道院,现在作为医院使用。这里也是药店的所在地,一个历史悠久的药店。这座建筑将以文艺复兴时期和拜占庭时期的混合风格让你着迷。

千万不要错过参观这个了不起的地方。大教堂提供神圣的弥撒(时间表可在网站上找到),或为单个游客和团体提供独家参观。

Opening Hours

Monday to Saturday - 9am–6pm Sunday - 12–6pm

Santi Giovanni e Paolo

Verified
Campo S.S. Giovanni e Paolo, 6363, 30122 Venezia VE, Italy

Basilica dei Santi Giovanni e Paolo is the biggest church in the city, and it's also one of the most important churches. The Venetians call it San Zanipolo. Located in the Castello sestiere, it stands on Campo dei Santi Giovanni e Paolo. The church is less than 10 minutes from the Rialto Bridge. 

It has a unique atmosphere of authentic Venice, unlike some other touristic places in the city. Basilica dei Santi Giovanni e Paolo is vast - its interior is more than 100 meters long. There are 150 tombstones, 37 monumental sepulchers, and valuable works of Italy's most notable artists. Take your time to explore this majestic place. 

The history of the church

Basilica dei Santi Giovanni e Paolo is the Dominican church of Venice. Historically, it has a connection with the Serenissima Republic. The church is named after John and Paul, martyrs of the Early Christian church in Rome. 

In 1246, Doge Jacopo Tiepolo had a vision. He then donated the land to the Dominicans, who built the church, only to demolish it in 1333. And that's when the construction of the current church began. The workers completed it on November 12, 1430. Since 1891 it has already undergone 90 restorations.  

What's unique about it?

The Basilica is the resting place for 25 Doges of the Serenissima from the 15th to 18th century. One of the museum's treasures is Madonna della Pace, located in its own chapel. There's also another valuable relic - a foot of Saint Catherine of Siena. 

In the church, you'll see works of famous Italian artists, such as Bellini, Cima da Conegliano, Palma il Giovane, and Vivarini e Veronese. There you can also see the tombstones of Giovanni e Gentile Bellini or the Bandiera brothers. 

Architecture and design

With its 55-m high dome, the Basilica stands out on Venice's skyline. You'll be in awe of the stunning central rose window and impressive gothic stained-glass windows, the biggest in Venice. There's also a bell tower with three bells in D major, which are an essential part of the whole experience.  

Attractions near the church

Basilica dei Santi Giovanni e Paolo is one of the most important locations on the Venice map. Next to the church, you'll find a few other sites worth seeing. One of them is the 4-meter-long Statue of Bartolomeo Colleoni, a Venice warlord. 

It's impossible not to notice the Scuola Grande di San Marco, a former Convent that now works as a hospital. It's also home to the Apothecary Shop, a historical pharmacy. The building will fascinate you with a mix of renaissance and byzantine styles. 

Don't miss out on visiting this terrific site. The Basilica offers holy masses (with the timetable available on the website) or exclusive tours for single visitors and groups.

Opening Hours

Monday to Saturday - 9am–6pm Sunday - 12–6pm