齐奥巴-格拉索

传统上,狂欢节庆祝活动的高潮是在最后一个星期四,称为Zioba(脂肪星期四)。即使在今天,除了狂欢节的兴奋之外,为期两周的狂欢节的闭幕日,最大的戏剧活动和聚会也是在星期四举行的。

Zioba Grasso可以追溯到总督Vitale Michieli二世对阿奎利亚牧首Ulrico的胜利。

1162年,Serenissima将乌尔里科和12名与弗留利亚封建领主结盟的教区牧师一起俘虏。这些人是为控制格拉多盐田而进行叛乱的阴谋家。格拉多的族长恩里科-丹多罗不得不逃往威尼斯。当乌尔里希答应每年向威尼斯进贡12条面包、12头猪和1头公牛时,他的囚禁才结束。

Zioba Grasso(狩猎日)成为这次胜利的纪念日,多年来一直在圣马可广场庆祝。庆祝活动中,一头公牛(象征着乌尔里希)和12头猪(12位教区牧师)为威尼斯的荣耀而牺牲。

给共和国的每个参议员送一块肉,并向囚犯分发面包,这已成为一种惯例。在总督府的Sala del Piovego的Zioba Grasso也纪念了对弗留利亚封建领主和Ulrico的胜利。在那里,总督和参议员用铁条敲打木制城堡,象征着对封建领主的胜利。

 令威尼斯感到高兴的是,即使在阿奎利亚牧首辖区衰落后,在那里庆祝的盛宴和贡品仍在继续。随着杀猪和杀牛的禁止,庆祝活动变得不再血腥。

从16世纪起,直到1797年塞伦尼希马的垮台,Zioba Grasso在圣马可广场举行,总督和其他政要出席。在那里,一个方塔形状的木制机器会放出烟花。当时最受欢迎的是一个杂技演员从圣马可钟楼上沿着绳子走到广场上。许多人为了表演这些壮举而丧生。

在威尼斯人中,"海格力斯的力量 "游戏非常流行。在这个游戏中,威尼斯人分成的两个主要派别,卡斯特拉尼和尼科洛蒂,互相挑战。每一派都创造了一个非凡的人形金字塔,或在水上的驳船上,或在陆地上。人们的呼喊和掌声决定了获胜的派别。在烟花表演之前进行的另一项活动是Moresco,即 "阿森纳工人"(arsenalotti)的军事舞蹈。

Zioba Grasso

The climax of the Carnival celebrations is traditionally celebrated on the last Thursday, called Zioba (Fat Thursday). Even today, in addition to the excitement of Mardi Gras, the closing day of the two-week carnival, it is on Thursdays that the biggest theatrical Venetian events and parties take place.

Zioba Grasso dates back to the victory of Doge Vitale Michieli II over Ulrico the Patriarch of Aquileia.

In 1162 the Serenissima took Ulrico prisoner together with 12 parish priests allied to the Friulian feudal lords. These were the conspirators of a rebellion for control over the Grado salt pans. The patriarch of Grado, Enrico Dandolo, had to flee to Venice. Ulrich's captivity ended when he promised to pay an annual tribute to Venice of 12 loaves of bread, 12 pigs and 1 bull.

Zioba Grasso ('the day of the hunt') became the anniversary of this victory, which was celebrated in St Mark's Square for many years. The celebrations saw a bull (symbolising Ulrich) and 12 pigs (the 12 parish priests) sacrificed for the glory of Venice.

It became customary to give a piece of meat to each Senator of the Republic and to distribute bread to prisoners. The victory over the Friulian feudal lords and Ulrico was also commemorated at Zioba Grasso in the Sala del Piovego in the Doge's Palace. There the Doge and Senators beat the wooden castles with iron bars symbolising the victory over the feudal lords.

 To the delight of Venice, the feast and tribute celebrated there continued even after the decline of the Patriarchate of Aquileia. With the banning of pig and bull killing, the celebrations became less bloody.

From the 16th century until the fall of the Serenissima in 1797, Zioba Grasso took place in St Mark's Square, in the presence of the Doge and other dignitaries. There, a wooden machine in the shape of a square tower would set off fireworks. The favourite spectacle then was an acrobat walking down a rope from St Mark's Bell Tower to the Piazza. Many died trying to perform these feats.

Among the Venetians, the game 'The Power of Hercules' was very popular. In this game, the two main factions into which the Venetian people were divided, Castellani and Nicolotti, challenged each other. Each faction creates an extraordinary human pyramid, either on barges on the water or on land. The people's shouts and applause determine the winning faction. Another annual event that took place before the fireworks display was the Moresco, the military dance of the 'arsenalotti' (Arsenal workers).