威尼斯犹太博物馆

1516年,十人会议下令将威尼斯的所有犹太人隔离在坎纳雷吉奥的一个小区域内。该区被宽阔的运河所包围,位于两座小桥尽头的两个入口门由基督教卫兵把守。犹太区的名字来自于一个大炮铸造厂,威尼斯语中的geto,在搬到兵工厂之前,它占据了这个地方。1541年,他们创建了第二个犹太区,称之为老犹太区,奇怪的是,它是新犹太区的继承者。

这个名字后来被赋予全世界所有强制隔离犹太人口的地方。白天,犹太人被允许离开犹太区,在历史上的某些时期,他们必须佩戴徽章和帽子。傍晚时分,他们不得不返回犹太区。  他们的职业仅限于纺织工作、贸易、放贷和医药。

贫民区的开放空间被高大的建筑物所包围。这些建筑如此之高是为了容纳尽可能多的人。它们是有许多楼层的建筑,天花板很低,墙壁很薄。过度拥挤是造成这种建筑演变的原因。

1797年,拿破仑拆除了犹太区的大门,但在奥地利人的统治下,犹太人再次被迫被禁锢。直到1866年,他们才获得了完全的自由。

今天,该区并没有失去其民族特色。最初,犹太区是一个禁锢的地方,今天它是一个文化和记忆的地方。这里有犹太食品商店和一家餐厅,面包师,一个犹太图书馆,一个博物馆,两个塞法尔族和一个阿什肯纳族的犹太教堂。在大型的Campo del Ghetto Nuovo也有几家商店出售犹太人的手工艺品。目前仍有500名犹太人居住在威尼斯的这个地区。

犹太博物馆
位于新犹太区的小型犹太博物馆收藏了17至19世纪的文物。该博物馆有一个专门介绍犹太人节日的部分,还有一个专门介绍威尼斯犹太人历史的部分。在博物馆里,你会发现纺织品和黄金文物。通过这个博物馆,你可以重温威尼斯犹太人的生活。

在这里你可以买票进入博物馆。 

犹太博物馆的网站上有犹太区犹太教堂的导游介绍。

Jewish museum of Venice

In 1516 the Council of Ten decreed that all Jews in Venice should be segregated in a small area of Cannaregio. The district was enclosed by wide canals and the two entrance gates at the end of two small bridges were manned by Christian guards. The Ghetto takes its name from a cannon foundry, geto in Venetian, which occupied the site before it was moved to the Arsenal. In 1541 they created a second ghetto, calling it the Old Ghetto, strangely enough the successor to the New Ghetto.

The name was later given to all places of forced segregation of Jewish populations around the world. During the day, Jews were allowed to leave the ghetto, and at certain times in history were obliged to wear badges and caps. In the evening, they had to return to the ghetto.  Their occupation was limited to textile work, trade, money lending and medicine.

The open space of the Campo del Ghetto Nuovo is surrounded by tall buildings. These buildings were so high to hold as many people as possible. They are buildings with many floors, very low ceilings and very thin walls. Overcrowding was the cause for this evolution in architecture.

In 1797 Napoleon pulled down the ghetto gates, but under the Austrians the Jews were again forced into confinement. It was only in 1866 that they were granted complete freedom.

Today the district has not lost its ethnic character. Initially the ghetto was a place of confinement, today it is a place of culture and memory. There are kosher food shops and a restaurant, bakers, a Jewish library, a museum, two Sephardic and one Ashkenazi synagogues. There are also several shops in the large Campo del Ghetto Nuovo selling Jewish artefacts. There are still 500 Jews living in this area of Venice.


Jewish Museum

The small Jewish Museum in the Ghetto Nuovo houses a collection of artefacts from the 17th to the 19th century. The museum has a section dedicated to Jewish festivities and one dedicated to the history of the Jews of Venice. In the museum you will find textile and gold artefacts. Through this museum you can relive the life of Venetian Jews.

Here you can buy a ticket to enter the museum.

Guided tours of the ghetto synagogues are available on the Jewish Museum website.